Quick answer
What is a good Hetzner CCX alternative that accepts crypto?
Hetzner does not accept cryptocurrencies, so a Hetzner CCX alternative that accepts crypto has to come from another host. On 2 November 2026, CCX13 (2 dedicated vCPU, 8 GB of RAM) cost €43.49 a month before VAT. Cobaltfell sells 2 dedicated vCPU with 4 GB for $14.98 month to month, in crypto with no KYC. Vultr takes coins through BitPay but verifies identity through a payment method.
What does Hetzner CCX cost after the June 2026 change?
CCX13, the smallest CCX, cost €43.49 a month before VAT in Germany and Finland on 2 November 2026, about $48.59. Hetzner describes the line in these words: "With General Purpose instances, you get dedicated vCPUs that offer predictable and consistently high processor performance." It names the processor only as AMD.
The prices rose for new orders on 15 June 2026. According to heise online, servers already running kept their old price, while new servers and rescaled ones are billed at the new rates. Moving a CCX to a bigger size therefore reprices it.
CCX is Hetzner's dedicated line; its shared CPX line behaves as described in the difference between a shared and a dedicated vCPU.
| Plan | Dedicated vCPU | RAM | NVMe | Price a month, before VAT | In USD | Per vCPU |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CCX13 | 2 | 8 GB | 80 GB | €43.49 | $48.59 | $24.30 |
| CCX23 | 4 | 16 GB | 160 GB | €86.49 | $96.63 | $24.16 |
| CCX33 | 8 | 32 GB | 240 GB | €138.99 | $155.28 | $19.41 |
| CCX43 | 16 | 64 GB | 360 GB | €276.49 | $308.89 | $19.31 |
Prices checked on
Converted at 1 EUR = 1.1172 USD (ECB reference rate of 30 October 2026).
Which dedicated-vCPU clouds take crypto?
Among the large clouds, Vultr and DigitalOcean take crypto, but each wraps it in an identity step; Hetzner, Linode and netcup take none. On 2 November 2026:
- Vultr accepts several coins through BitPay. Its documentation says a payment method must be added because it "helps verify your identity".
- DigitalOcean accepts stablecoins, but says the option is limited and may not be offered everywhere, and it starts with a one-time $25.00 authorization.
- Hetzner says on its payment page: "We do not accept cryptocurrencies." It may also ask for an ID document or a card prepayment before processing an order.
- Linode lists cards, Google Pay and PayPal, and no crypto.
- netcup takes no crypto and asks new customers to verify their identity after the first order, or to prepay.
If the point of paying in crypto is to skip identity checks, these five are not the answer. The hosts that take crypto without an ID document, and call their CPU dedicated, are listed in what a dedicated CPU VPS costs per core in November 2026.
How do the CCX sizes compare, plan by plan?
At 2 and 4 vCPU, CCX was the most expensive of the six offers below; at 8 and 16 vCPU, Vultr and DigitalOcean cost more. CCX also gives the most memory: 4 GB per vCPU, where Cobaltfell, Vultr, DigitalOcean and Linode give 2 GB.
According to Cobaltfell's survey of 2 November 2026, one CCX13 vCPU cost $24.30 a month, about three times the $8.20 median of a dedicated vCPU on a 2022-or-later processor at hosts that take crypto without an ID document.
| Provider | 2 vCPU | 4 vCPU | 8 vCPU | 16 vCPU | RAM per vCPU | Processor | Pay in crypto |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hetzner CCX | $48.59 | $96.63 | $155.28 | $308.89 | 4 GB | AMD, model not stated | No |
| Vultr Optimized Cloud Compute (CPU) | $40.00 | $80.00 | $160.00 | $320.00 | 2 GB | AMD EPYC, generation not stated | Through BitPay, with a payment method for identity |
| DigitalOcean CPU-Optimized | $42.00 | $84.00 | $168.00 | $336.00 | 2 GB | Intel Xeon Scalable, 2nd generation or older | Stablecoins, not offered to everyone |
| Linode Dedicated CPU G6 | $36.00 | $72.00 | $144.00 | $288.00 | 2 GB | Not stated | No |
| netcup Root Server G12.5 | $16.61 | $27.93 | $52.30 | $190.69 | 2 GB (4 GB at 16 cores) | AMD EPYC 9645 | No |
| Cobaltfell, month to month | $14.98 | $27.84 | $54.63 | $185.53 | 2 GB | AMD EPYC 9004/9005 | Yes, no ID |
| Cobaltfell, 12-month term (per month) | $10.49 | $19.49 | $38.24 | $129.87 | 2 GB | AMD EPYC 9004/9005 | Yes, no ID |
Prices checked on
Euro prices converted at 1 EUR = 1.1172 USD (ECB reference rate of 30 October 2026). Vultr and DigitalOcean describe a vCPU as one hardware thread; Hetzner's pages read on 2 November 2026 did not say.
Where does Cobaltfell differ from CCX?
The main trade is memory: a CCX plan has twice the RAM of the Cobaltfell plan with the same vCPU count. If your CCX13 uses its 8 GB, the like-for-like choice is Fell 4 (4 vCPU, 8 GB) at $27.84 month to month, still below CCX13's $48.59.
The other differences, side by side:
- vCPU: A vCPU is one hardware thread of the host processor. Yours are pinned one to one to your VPS and never lent to another customer, and the two threads of a physical core stay together, so every 2 vCPU make one whole core that no neighbour shares.
- Processor: Every plan runs on AMD EPYC 9004/9005 server processors (Zen 4 / Zen 5), a family first launched in November 2022; a VPS is never moved to an older node without telling you first.
- Disk: Fell 2 and Fell 4 match CCX13 and CCX23 (80 and 160 GB of NVMe); Fell 8 and Fell 16 have more than CCX33 and CCX43 (320 and 640 GB, against 240 and 360).
- Traffic: CCX includes 20 TB in Europe. Each VPS gets one IPv4 address and an IPv6 /64 on a 1 Gbit/s port. The monthly traffic of your plan counts outgoing data only, and going past it never adds a charge by itself; Fell 2 includes 4 TB.
- Billing: CCX is billed by the hour with a monthly cap. Rent a VPS for 1 month, 3 months (10% off), 6 months (20% off) or 12 months (30% off) at a time. A longer term costs the monthly price times its months, minus its discount, rounded down to the cent: Fell 8 is $54.63 for 1 month, $147.50 for 3, $262.22 for 6 and $458.89 for 12. A renewal repeats the term of your order at the same price, unless you choose a different term for the next one in your dashboard.
- Delivery: A member of the team builds each VPS by hand once the payment is confirmed, a job of minutes rather than seconds: the dashboard shows the progress, then the IP address once the VPS boots. 1 hour at most after your payment is confirmed; most VPS are ready within a few minutes.
- Cities: Amsterdam (Netherlands), Zurich (Switzerland) and Bucharest (Romania): all four plans in all three cities, at one price.
- Backups: Backups are not part of any plan: keep a copy of your data somewhere else.
- Identity: No KYC at any point: no ID, no selfie, no documents, no card and no phone number.
Which no-KYC hosts sell the same shapes as CCX?
Two hosts in our crypto pool sell plans with exactly the CCX sizes (2 vCPU, 8 GB, 80 GB up to 16 vCPU, 64 GB, 360 GB), on AMD EPYC 7003, a 2021 processor. On 2 November 2026:
- CryptoVPS.host sells a line its own store names "Dedicated CPU - Hetzner Cloud - US/EU": $65 a month for 2 vCPU, 8 GB and 80 GB, and $276 for 16 vCPU, 64 GB and 360 GB.
- Servers.Guru sells "dedicated vCPU" cloud servers in the same five cities as Hetzner's cloud outside Singapore (Nuremberg, Falkenstein, Helsinki, Ashburn, Hillsboro): €69.99 ($78.19) for 2 vCPU and 8 GB.
Servers.Guru costs more than CCX at every size. CryptoVPS.host costs more at 2 and 4 vCPU and less at 8 and 16 ($145.50 and $276, against $155.28 and $308.89). Neither page says who runs the hardware. For dedicated cores on a 2022-or-later processor, paid in crypto without ID, the shortlist is in which is the best dedicated CPU VPS provider in 2026.
How do you move a CCX workload to Cobaltfell?
The move is a fresh install plus a copy of your data, done while the CCX keeps running.
Size from what you use
Read the CPU and memory use of the CCX over a busy week. Pick the plan by vCPU you keep busy, then check that its RAM, 2 GB per vCPU, covers your peak.
Order and pick the same system
Debian 13, Debian 12, Ubuntu 24.04 LTS, AlmaLinux 10, Rocky Linux 10. Choose the city and paste your SSH key at checkout.
Copy the data
Use
rsync -aHAX --numeric-idsover SSH for files, and a dump and restore for databases, then switch DNS once the copy is in sync.Check the cores
Run your workload with
mpstat -P ALL 1 60and look at%steal, as explained in what CPU steal time is and how to check it, then compare a run of how to benchmark a VPS with YABS or Geekbench 6 with the one you made on the CCX.
What other questions do people ask about Hetzner CCX alternatives?
Can I pay Hetzner itself in crypto?
No. Hetzner's payment documentation says plainly: "We do not accept cryptocurrencies." That covers the whole cloud line, CCX included, and Hetzner may also ask for an ID document or a card prepayment before it processes an order.
Did Hetzner raise CCX prices in 2026?
Yes. New prices applied to new orders and rescales from 15 June 2026, while running servers kept theirs, as reported by heise online. On 2 November 2026 CCX13 cost €43.49 a month before VAT in Europe.
Is a CCX vCPU a full core or a thread?
Hetzner's pages we read on 2 November 2026 did not say. At Cobaltfell the rule is written: each vCPU is one hardware thread, and the two threads of a core always go to the same VPS.
Which alternative is closest to CCX13 in RAM?
Fell 4: 4 dedicated vCPU and 8 GB of RAM, the same memory as CCX13 with twice the vCPU, for $27.84 month to month or $19.49 a month on the 12-month term.
Is netcup a cheaper dedicated-core option than CCX?
On price, yes: netcup's RS 500 G12.5 gave 2 dedicated EPYC 9645 cores for $16.61 a month, VAT included, on 2 November 2026. It takes no crypto and asks for an identity check or a prepayment after the first order.
Sources (16)
- Hetzner Cloud general purpose (CCX) hetzner.com/cloud/general-purpose — Hetzner (checked 2026-11-02)
- Hetzner payment overview docs.hetzner.com/general/billing-and-account-management/billing-at-hetzner/payment-overview — Hetzner (checked 2026-11-02)
- Hetzner fraud prevention FAQ docs.hetzner.com/general/security-and-identify/fraud-prevention-faq — Hetzner (checked 2026-11-02)
- Up to 200 percent: Cloud hoster Hetzner adjusts prices again — heise online (15 June 2026, read 2026-11-02)
- Vultr plans API api.vultr.com/v2/plans — Vultr (checked 2026-11-02)
- Vultr: why do I need to enter a payment method? docs.vultr.com/support/platform/billing/why-do-i-need-to-enter-a-payment-method — Vultr (checked 2026-11-02)
- DigitalOcean Droplet pricing digitalocean.com/pricing/droplets — DigitalOcean (checked 2026-11-02)
- DigitalOcean: choosing a Droplet plan docs.digitalocean.com/products/droplets/concepts/choosing-a-plan — DigitalOcean (checked 2026-11-02)
- DigitalOcean: manage payment methods docs.digitalocean.com/platform/billing/manage-payment-methods — DigitalOcean (checked 2026-11-02)
- Linode types API (Dedicated CPU plans) api.linode.com/v4/linode/types — Akamai / Linode (checked 2026-11-02)
- Akamai TechDocs: manage payment methods (archived 2026-07-10) — Akamai (read 2026-11-02)
- netcup Root Server G12.5 netcup.com/en/server/root-server — netcup (checked 2026-11-02)
- netcup help center: identity verification netcup.com/en/helpcenter/documentation/general/identity-verification — netcup (checked 2026-11-02)
- CryptoVPS.host Dedicated CPU - Hetzner Cloud - US/EU clients.cryptovps.host/index.php?rp=/store/dedicated-cpu-hetzner-cloud-useu/ninja-vds — CryptoVPS.host (checked 2026-11-02)
- Servers.Guru cloud servers with dedicated vCPU servers.guru/anonymous-dedicated-cloud-servers — Servers.Guru (checked 2026-11-02)
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates — European Central Bank (rate of 2026-10-30)